Posted by: Teri Simon | 2011/12/12

Peace

Dove of PeaceAnother holiday season is upon us.  If you take the approach of the advertisers and store owners, the holiday season has actually been upon us since around October.  There seems to me to be a constant debate about “the reason for the season,” whether you celebrate Christmas, or the Jewish Festival of Lights, a/k/a Chanukah, or any other holiday that happens around this time of year.

Here’s what I’m thinking about:  this time of year, there is a tendency to look for friendliness, for a spirit of giving, for unity, and for creating peace.  It’s interesting that those concepts are set up in front of the backdrop of continuing economic challenges, politics, and class and religious suspicions.  How, I wonder, can there be peace in such a setting?  And how, I wonder, can we extend the desire for peace we feel during the holiday season into the year ahead?  And when, I wonder, will we find the balance between supporting our economy (i.e., buying all those gifts because, hey, that keeps a lot of people employed), and supporting the economy of our spirits and our hearts?

Clearly, I have more questions than I do answers.  But I also know this, and I put it in a song that my friend, Lisa Silver, included in our original Friday evening Shabbat service, Kabbalat K’Tan Shabbat:  “Peace for the world begins with a peaceful me.” Think about that for a second.  Hmmmm.  Maybe the answer is just that easy!

Wishing you much peace for the day, the week, the season, and the coming year,

Teri

Responses

  1. How serendipitous to have received your sweet message this morning! Just a few minutes ago I received the following message from an old, dear friend. I was just about to forward it to you when your message came in. Wow!! Good vibes this morning, eh?

    My heart is feeling warmed by just sending this on to you.

    Hugs,
    Aviva

    Subject: My Table of 8

    LIFE ISN’T ABOUT WAITING FOR THE STORM TO PASS…
    IT’S ABOUT LEARNING HOW TO DANCE IN THE RAIN!

    My Table of Eight:
    I am supposed to pick 8 women who have touched my life and whom I think might participate.
    Please send this back to me.
    Remember to just read the quotation. That’s all you have to do. There is nothing attached.
    Just send this to eight women and let me know what happens on the fourth day.
    Sorry you have to forward the message, but try not to break this, please.

    Quote:
    May today there be peace within.
    May you trust that you are exactly where you are meant to be.
    May you not forget the infinite possibilities that are born of faith in yourself and others.
    May you use the gifts that you have received, and pass on the love that has been given to you.
    May you be content with yourself just the way you are.
    Let this knowledge settle into your bones, and allow your soul the freedom to sing, dance, praise and love. It is there for each and every one of us.”

    Now, send this to 8 women or more within the next 5 minutes.
    And remember to send this back. I count as 1. You’ll see why.


Categories

