Posted by: Teri Simon | 2012/01/23

The Perils of Perfectionism

My friends, I confess to you that I am a bit of a perfectionist.  Just a bit; not so overwhelmed by the urge to be perfect that I can’t really do anything.  When I write, I edit and re-read and edit some more before I post.  But then, as your comments come in, I re-read and edit again and again.  Sometimes, I’m lucky and there’s not much work to be done.  And other times, like yesterday, I find a mistake that catches me off guard and makes me really unhappy!  HOWEVER, the wonders of internet blogging bring forth the opportunity to make corrections!  SO, here, then, is the correct “single best piece of advice I’ve ever gotten from anyone” from yesterday’s blog:

You know how people are always telling you to look for the light at the end of the tunnel?  Well, I’m here to tell you:  don’t forget to look for the light IN the tunnel.  Nobody ever said you had to go through the tunnel in the dark!

There, now.  I feel better.  Don’t you?

Make it a great, but not perfect, day,

Teri, the Flying Elephant, perilously dealing with perfectionism

Responses

  1. we have GOT to meet, teena!!! thank you for your continued support, and please know that you have mine!

  2. You are continually an inspiration, Teri, with a unique perspective of this journey thru “lung junk”. I marvel at your tenacity, courage, and most of all,
    your wonderful honesty. Thank you for all the sharing you continue to do as you create your blog. One day, we will meet in person – maybe at Micah,
    at a TC2 meeting or for a light lunch on a good day!

    Thinking of you,
    Teena C.

  3. I must confess to being a perfectionist/proofreader, too, but I didn’t think you should stress over something so trivial, so I didn’t write to you. HOWEVER, I forward everything you write to my husband and I did correct that one thing before I sent it on. (He’s a perfectionist, too, and we still get along!!)


Categories

