Posted by: Teri Simon | 2012/02/01

Partner In Your Care

Well, Friends, here it is, what we call Day 3 post-chemo (Chemo Day itself counts as Day 1), and things are going MUCH better this time around!  I’m tired, that’s for sure, partly from the Alimta, but also from the anti-nausea medications I’m taking ’round the clock until tomorrow.  They’re working:  no puking this time, and no pain, which is AWESOME!  Color me relieved!

One thing of great value that I’ve learned in the Land of Lung Junk is that it’s VITALLY IMPORTANT TO BE A PARTNER IN YOUR OWN CARE!  In fact, no matter what kind of care you’re involved in, you really do owe it to yourself and your health to participate completely in your process.  I’ve been greatly blessed by having a circle of practitioners who work well with one another, who trust me to be part of my own team, and who listen, share, and then act on what we all agree upon.  It’s my body, my Lung Junk, my life, and I’m just not gonna sit back and shake my head or nod my head and smile just because someone in a lab coat tells me to do that.  Nope, that’s not me!

After the first round of this new chemo protocol went so poorly for me, I started thinking about what could be done to perhaps head off at the pass the ill-effects.  I figured that if puking and constipation were gonna be part of the deal, when they weren’t a deal at all when I had what I call my Big Chemo last summer, there had to be something we hadn’t considered before starting the Alimta.  Turns out, that was true.  With the Big Chemo, my doctor put me on preemptive anti-nausea meds each time I had infusions, and I was given strict instructions to NOT THROW UP!  Why not do that with this drug then, too?  And furthermore, those nasty side effects cause dehydration, so why not add some fluids to my infusion while I’m all hooked up to the machine anywho?  Getting ahead of the curve seemed like a logical and good idea to me.

I shared these thoughts with Dr. Horn, and she agreed.  And when I went in on Monday for the infusion, all things to get me ahead of the curve this time were put into place, and so far, so good!  Proof positive, I think, that it’s a good thing to listen to your body, research what you can, COMMUNICATE WITH YOUR DOCTORS, and form a team approach to your health care.  And if you can’t be the one to do that, get a friend or loved one to do it for you.  SOMEBODY has to help you advocate for what you need.  And if your provider isn’t the type to listen and partner with you in your care, consider finding another one.  Seriously.

Seldom in this world is anything really “one size fits all,” least of all in the medical realm!  If you have some sort of junk to contend with, establish a team you can really work with.  It’s truly the best way to ensure the best outcomes!

OK, I’ve done my encouragement speech for the day.  It’s Rest Period!  Thanks for all your good wishes, and here’s to the rest of the week just getting better and better!

Teri, the Flying Elephant, part of a great care team!

Responses

  1. This is great news! I am thrilled that things are better this time around and pleased at how very SMART you are to figure all this out! I agree with BJ above, I would want you on my team should I ever create one!

  2. Terri…..Bless you !!!!…
    I can relate, to some degree, to your struggles with this terrible invasion of your lungs….I am a survivor of ca. 3 times.(.non hodgkins lymphoma) …and know first hand that living with any kind of ca. is a challenge.
    i certainly hope that each new day will find you getting stronger and pray that you have a full recovery.
    I used to live in Nashville and still have a son and daughter there…I feel as though my heart has stayed there.
    Am Sending you a big cyber hug !!!

  3. So glad to hear that this round is going much better than the last! Yes, you have a great team, and you continue to build your team and to educate them.
    You are the first person I would want on my team, for anything.


Categories

