Posted by: Teri Simon | 2012/04/01

Paarrrtttyyyy!!!!!!!

partyWow, my friends–this has been quite a day!  As you may recall, I alerted y’all via this blog and my Facebook page to the fact that I was having a Book Launch Party at Gilda’s Club Nashville today.  Well, the party was had and party we did!  It was a good time had by all, I think, and by “all,” I mean at least 100 people!  Good food, great entertainment, lovely environment.  But for me, it was a bigger deal than you might imagine.  For me, well, it was all about the love in the room.

People in attendance ranged from family (my sister even came in from Houston; my brother was unable to attend but promises to visit in the next couple of weeks) to friends and neighbors. Former co-workers, and folks I see often. And then, there were people I hadn’t seen in quite a while, like my kids’ Kindergarten teacher (and Emily just turned 23 last Monday, so you have a little bit of an idea of time here), and my friend, Mattielyn, whom I hadn’t seen in several years.  And then there was my friend, Jane, who traveled down from Columbus, Ohio yesterday to be with me for this shindig, and accompany Lisa and me to my infusion tomorrow.  Hadn’t seen her in at least 10 years!

The line was long for book purchases and autographs, y’all.  LOOOOOOONG, I tell you!  If I was feeling a little short on hugs lately, and I confess, I kind of had been, believe me, I definitely surpassed my quota this afternoon.  And smiles, too.  And love….so much love……

I recommend partying like this to you, with my whole heart.  Not even kidding a little bit here.  Especially if you’re dealing with something icky like lung junk.  Especially if it crosses your mind more than now and then that there will come a day when people gather to celebrate you, but you’ll pretty much be the only one not in the room, if you know what I mean.  Today, for me, was a bit like having that gathering, but being able to be there to witness it.  To get to see people I care about cross-pollinating, getting to know each other, putting faces to names, swapping stories, sharing love…..so much love……, well, it was fantastic!  It was a blast to see Person A talking with Person X, witnessing nodding heads and smiles and affection and affiliation, all because I asked those people to gather in a room.  Yes, I was kind of the center of attention, but then again, in some ways I was quite peripheral to the whole thing.  It was an event for me and about me, but everyone present found something else to connect them to someone else present.  I was the reason they gathered, but the gathering was bigger than that.  Bigger than me.  Bigger than all of us.

I don’t think we should wait to party like I did today.  It shouldn’t take a birthday or wedding or holiday or funeral to get us to get together and connect the people we care about with one another.  It should happen just because.  Because life is short and too many of us have junk to deal with.  We should make sure we get to be in the room to celebrate as much life as we can celebrate, for no reason other than we have life and we can.  No, wait–here’s a better reason:  love…..so much love……  It’s there and it needs and deserves to be shared, maybe even every day, you know?

Tomorrow begins a new chapter in the Land of Lung Junk, as I become a patient in a clinical drug trial at Vanderbilt.  I’m nervous, my friends, maybe even a little more than I’d like to admit.  It’s scary to dive on into a bunch of unknowns.  It’s frightening to remember that I’m doing all this, that I had a party and wrote books, because I have cancer.  Cancer sucks.  But I will go into to tomorrow carrying with me the sweet memories of  this afternoon, and that will bolster me.  That and all the love….so much love…..

I wish you a week of love, and hopes you’ll plan your parties soon,

Teri, the Flying Elephant

Responses

  1. Teri I want to thank you for including me. It was so neat to see your family and your kids. I tell you, Taylor and the Beltones are really good. I wanted to get up and dance! What a way to celebrate yoU. I watched you a couple of times and the love that was coming out of you and the pride you have looking at your children was just awesome. I started to tell Taylor who I was and she hugged me and said she knew who I was. That made me feel good. It was neat meeting or seeing some of your friends to. What a wonderful day. Tell Lisa hi and we all know you are in good hands today. We might not be there physically but you have many of us there in heart and spirit. Here’s hoping for a great day.

  2. What a wonderful day today was for everyone in that room. I was amazed at the number of people there to celebrate YOU, you are surely loved. You are blessed with 3 loving and accomplished children who adore you. It was so nice to see Tami and chat with her.

    My thoughts and prayers will be with you tomorrow as always.

    Lots of love,
    Joanie

  3. Sure wish I had been there (we are in Virginia visiting Will and Kara). Sounds like a wonderful party – such a good reason to gather. I can’t wait to read the second book – know it will be just as good, if not better, than the first one. I especially hope tomorrow goes well. I will be thinking of you as we drive back to Nashville. Love, Sandra

  4. It was a privilege and honor to share this day with you and with those who love you. It was also overwhelming to see all that love in one place. How great a blessing!


Categories

