Posted by: Teri Simon | 2012/05/14

Darn it all!

You were praying, weren’t you?  You were praying that my visit to Dr. Horn would be great and I would find myself the Poster Child for the immunotherapy drug trial.  Yeah, so was I.  Alas, it is not meant to be.

This morning, my brother, Lisa, and I went to Vanderbilt for my scheduled CT scan and other appointments, all of which were supposed to culminate in my getting another infusion.  We were wise this time:  since I haven’t been feeling very well lately, we got a wheelchair, and my brother pushed me around.  Cutting to the chase:  the immunotherapy was a big fail for me.  The tumors that were already there are a bit bigger, and there are a couple of new lung and liver tumors that weren’t there before, but are there and are huge now!  Feh.  So, off the study I went.

I’m actually OK.  I know, right?  Maybe it’s all the love y’all are sending my way, or all the prayers going up on my behalf or how much y’all are caring for me.  Whatever it is, it’s helping, that’s for sure!

I have a few options to exercise, and there will be more coming down the pipeline.  I don’t have to make any snap decisions; I need time for my body to heal from the radiation and everything else it’s been put through.  Within the next few weeks, though, I’ll have to choose what my next course of action will be.  (I’ve got a pretty good idea right now, but am not quite ready to share it with all of you.  Sorry.)

They did pump me up with fluids and anti-nausea medications this afternoon, and that’s left me feeling much better and even able to eat a bit, something I haven’t been able to do in like 4-5 days.  My brother is mother-henning me like you wouldn’t believe.  God love him for that! (I do!)

So, please, keep on keepin’ on, please keep my kids and me in your prayers, pray for one another, be kind to each other, and forgive me ’cause I just gotta say it:  FUCK CANCER!

Love you all,

Teri, the Flying Elephant

Responses

  1. YES…Fuck Cancer

  2. My heart hurts for you. You are in my prayers every day – you have been a bright light for me – it flickers at times, but still bright. Remember – you have a lot of people on your side! I wish you peace
    Brenda

  3. oh teri, i was so hopeful, but it just means that i take a deep breathe and continue to pray for you and your family and be hopeful again. i think that is the lesson i am learning from you. rest easy tonight, glad your brother is being a mother hen. much love! patti

  4. That stinks but cancer doesn’t seem to get the better of your spirit.

  5. Teri – I’m just checking in and am so sorry to hear all of this. I had emailed you about 6 wks ago and you were so very helpful concerning info on the clinical trial. Since then: I didn’t get in, been on new therapy, been taken off twice, hospitalized once, I TOO have what I call the 1 day pity party rule. I will pray for your peace, comfort and healing. Cancer truly, truly sucks however remain true knowing that He loves you and the sun will shine again.

  6. Teri, deep in my Ashkenazi DNA there lives a Druid. I am lighting more candles and adding some Druidry to Mi Shebeirach. Strength, courage, and love surround you, and a loud FUCK CANCER in unison with everyone else’s.

  7. Terri:

    I have stage 4 NSCLC adenocarcinoma. I was diagnosed August 9,2011. I did 4 rounds of chemo, but it only stayed stable, never shrunk the tumors and started spreading less than 30 days after last treatment. I had been tested for the ALK translocation and became an excellent candidate for the new genitically targeted drug Xalkori. So far it is working, but at some point the cancer will outsmart it and figure out a way to grow again. I am grateful for every day, but live knowing someday I will have to deal with the horror that is lung cancer, again. There is not a day that I forget I have cancer. I was one of the attendees at the LUNGevity Hope Summit and had looked forward to hearing you speak. The fact that you can talk about your cancer with both honesty and humor let’s me know you are an amazing woman! My heart is aching for you in your struggle. My thoughts are with you and may you find the support and love to face all you have to face.

    Sincerely,
    Susan

  8. I’m so very sorry for your loss!

  9. Teri, I am sending you love, hugs, and prayers to you all wrapped up with more love. It breaks my heart, knowing how broken hearted you must be. If you think of anything I can do for you just let me know. You are such a wonderful person and an inspiration to me.

  10. I agree….I hate cancer too.. Just buried my mom sat from a year long bout w lung junk. praying for you.

  11. Teri,
    I will continue to pray and continue to believe in our God and His promises. I don’t pretend to understand them. At all.

  12. I hate this news. I hate lung cancer!!

  13. Yep….FUCK CANCER!!!! Fuck fuck fuckity fuck fuck FUCK CANCER!!!!


Categories

