Posted by: Teri Simon | 2012/11/30

An Update from the Flying Elephant Herself

3104690415_d1c9e5d186Hello, all my dear friends far and wide who have keeping up dated through the great efforts of my friend, Kim Phillips, and my sweet daughter, Taylor.  Your prayers and kind thoughts have been so very helpful, and Holly Roche put together a meals calendar that has turned into life saver for my son and my brother.  DO NOT ASK ME DETAILS ABOUT THE CALENDAR.   I’m hopped up on many many drugs and many other people have a handle on such things.  Not I!  (Holly’s email is hollyroche@comcast.net.)

For the rest of the tale, let me be brief:  this past Monday, my dad was over reading me.  I felt terrible.  I couldn’t stop coughing, which really wore me out.  I dictated an email through him to my Nurse Practitioner, and the next thing I knew I was at the Vanderbilt Clinic, diagnosed with an infection in my catheter (which I already knew about, pneumonia, which was a surprise and extreme dehydration, also a surprise  I was admitted into the hospital Monday night.  Over the course of the next two days, important and difficult conversations took lace.  My family, friends, doctors, and I worked very honestly to come to the conclusion that I would return to my home as a Hospice Patient.  Currently, cancer treatment is doing more to destroy my healthy body than it is to kill the cancer and this just is no way for me to live.

There are many hopes in Hospice Care- one is to restore the patient to some sort of health allowing for treatment again.  One is to keep the patient as comfortable as possible for as long as possible.  One is allow the patient all that is needed for an easy transition to the next place.  BUT ALL of Hospice care is about caring for the whole family system the whole time so that the patient doesn’t have to over-do with worry.

I hope you will respect this choice I have made and hope with me for peaceful outcomes.  Meanwhile, reach out to one another for support, and if you’d like to visit, please call or text or email first–I’m pretty worn out!

Much love to all,

Teri, The Forever Flying Elephant

Responses

  1. Teri,

    Thanks for the update. Hope you improved over the week. I met you in WhatsNext and have prayed for you since. You have to get better…we need lots of new, updated books!

    Please get better!

    Love, Nina

  2. Dearest Teri
    i have just read your post and everyone’s responses. I think of you always and wish you to feel comfortable and peaceful. Sending you and your amazing children hugs and love and even though I haven’t seen you for a long time, I still feel very connected to you. You are so loved, so respected, so cherished and your unbelievable strength has been an absolute inspiration to one and all.
    Lots of special love

  3. Sweet Teri,
    I hope your choice leads you to peace and to some physical comfort. We all seek both of those things — in different ways at different times of our lives. Hospice is your way of seeking them at this time in your life. And so you change direction, but still fly on. Praying for all good things to come to you and your family. Love always.

  4. Teri,we want you to know you
    are in our thoughts and prayers. May comfort, peace and love surround you and your family.
    The Aront family….Judi, Alan, Kari and David
    ,

  5. Hi Teri,

    My heart, soul and prayerful words are with you at this time of difficulty.

    I hope for easiness for you.

    Love,

    Ethan

    _____

  6. Happy travels, my flying elephant!

  7. I am so happy we have found one another again after so many years have past. You have touched me in ways you will never know. Your decision is another part of your journey and just like all the decisions you have made throughout your care, it is the right decision for you. Praying for you, your family, and for your new friends in Hospice. Sending hugs and love!!

  8. Teri, Thank you for all you have given to support and inspire all of us with your grace, humor, and writing for the past 3 years. Peace, Love, Prayers to Elegant Flying Elephant and Her Family.

  9. Dear Teri,
    I respect your decision and know that you are loved completely. I do not want your incredible strength and desire to be there for all of us to cause you to suffer. You and you alone know what to do and when to do it. All the rest of us can do is just be by your side. You have been there for me in so many more ways than you could possibly know. It is our turn to care for you. I love you and I don’t want to lose you, and I want to say that so you know that I am preparing for whatever comes next and no one knows how much time they will have. I hope that we have more time for insightful conversation and and understanding. But mostly I am grateful for how you have let us into your life and shared so much. I am sending you and your family prayers and love.

  10. My dear, dear Teri,

    I couldn’t agree with you more given what I have experienced with Sandra. It is for you and you alone to make such a decision. We can only respect that.

    We do the best we can for the as long as we can and then we all want to leave with dignity and on our own terms. You have fought one of the noblest of battles and have earned the badges that only someone of your caliber can do. Such a decision is never easy and yet sometimes it is very obvious. You KNOW how I feel about you. You KNOW the respect for your that I have. You KNOW how strongly I feel about the 100s of lives that you have touched. This world we live in will NEVER be the same because Teri was simply here. Whether it be hours, days, weeks or longer, may your journey from her be peaceful and as comfortable as it can be and may you be at peace with your maker. You will leave knowing that your great children will be fine and had a great mother. That they are only wiser and stronger because of you and that they will succeed because of you. They will love each other and love the value of “true” friends because of you. They also now know the difference between ‘friends’ and FRIENDS.

    I love you as do so many people. I will miss you. Thank you for all that you have given me and all that you done for me.

    Love you my dear, dear Flying Elephant – wushie,

    Bob

  11. Teri, You and all who know you are in my prayers. As you know I have been a hospice chaplain for years and also am your friend. If I can help you in anyway, I am here. I love you Teri.

  12. I love you Teri. I lift you up in prayer daily as do so many. Take comfort in your family, your faith and in your friends. Hospice is truly a blessing and so helpful in so many ways. Peace. 🙂

  13. Praying for peace for you and your family.
    I feel blessed that we have entered each others lives.

  14. Blessings Teri as your journey continues. My experience with a family member in hospice care was truly wonderful – the compassion and skill of the providers was beautiful. They were able to make everyone as comfortable as possible. They took such wonderful care of my family member that she coniintued on for three years. May you be surround with love, comfort and peace.

  15. Praying for you and for peace. Taylor is my very best friend and I just wanted you to know you she is one of the best people I’ve ever known. She tells me she gets it from you. I’m praying for you and your family.

  16. Hospice is incredibly Wonderful! You will find them so great for you and the entire family. Prayers continue for all of you. Take care and sweet dreams tonight.

    ________________________________

  17. Dear Teri –
    Much love back to you and yours. I am saddened by the news. It must have been an incredibly difficult decision. I wish you peace of mind and some rest for your body. I send you hugs, lots of them.

  18. Cannot imagine respecting someone / someone’s decision more. You are brave, intelligent, and totally aware of what the universe may hold. I pray for your extended presence on this earth and your ability to be here with your children. If that is not to be, I pray for us….Love you, Love your children, and pray for the outcome that is supposed to be…..

  19. We are with you every step and love you so much! The Rosenbergs

  20. Still praying for you daily Teri, and wishing you limitless peace.

  21. Your openness and bravery are a blessing and an inspiration. Wishing you peace and comfort on this Shabbat. Love you…


Categories

